Shooting from the hip in London

 

Decided to have another go at shooting from the hip. Where you hang your camera down by your hip and try and take images without people noticing so that they are natural rather than posed. Never thought I’d like this form of photography but as it turns out I love it. You never quite know what you’re going to get as you’re not looking through the viewfinder. The one problem I find with this form of photography is that I’m using a Canon 5D MkII which has a very loud shutting release, so even if people don’t notice your camera before you take an image, they certainly do after you have.

PORT10 PORT9 PORT8 PORT7 PORT6 PORT5 PORT4 PORT3 PORT2 PORT LAND9 LAND8 LAND7 LAND6 LAND5 LAND4 LAND3 LAND2 LAND

4 thoughts on “Shooting from the hip in London

    • Hiya
      I really enjoy it, never had any negative comments, some strange looks and even some poses when people realise what’s going on lol. I do find that doimg it in a city is much easier than a small town. I love the way you never actually know what you’re going to get. I first tried it as part of a college course, and fell in love with it. Try it you never know 🙂

  1. I’ve never heard of “shooting from the hip” but I love it! I really like the photo with the girl in the yellow dress too. The yellow is a nice contrast from the grayish background.

    • Shooting from the hip is a term meaning that you walk with your camera down, like you’re not taking a photo. It naturally hangs by your hip. That way people don’t realise they’re being photographed so it is totally natural and unposed. It took a bit of time to get used to the idea, but now I love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

